List of 5 MPs carefully selected to attend DP Ruto’s 8-hour meeting over Matiangi

Team agreed on the way forward and countering Matiangi's appointment

File image of DP William Ruto with Senator Kipchumba Murkomen and Kithure Kindiki

A carefully selected team from DP Ruto’s inner circle was hurriedly assembled to attend a meeting at the DP’s Karen home following the elevation of Fred Matiangi by President Uhuru Kenyatta to a new role that analysts opine will see him take up some of DP Ruto’s roles.

While information on the 8-hour meeting remain scanty, media reports indicate that the political implications of Matiangi’s appointment was the major agenda.

Sources privy to the details revealed that the following were the participants at the meeting that took place at when President Uhuru Kenyatta was out of the country:

1.     Aden Duale (Majority Leader in the National Assembly

2.    Kipchumba Murkomen (Majority Leader in the Senate)

3.    Ben Washiali (Majority Whip)

4.    Kithure Kindiki (Deputy Senate Speaker)

5.    Stephen Sang (Nandi Governor)

Countering the appointment and the way forward

Credible sources revealed that during the meeting, it was agreed that the DP’s team avoids confrontational politics and instead focus on the development agenda narrative.

The team also explored ways of countering the appointment and calming DP Ruto’s political turf in Rift Valley amidst concerns that the appointment would see Matiang’i take up most of his roles.

Majority Whip Ben Washiali confirmed that the meeting indeed happened but declined to divulge much details.

“We met at the DP's place on Thursday evening and it is not the first time we were meeting there. We do that regularly. But I cannot give you the details of what transpired during the meeting because that is the preserve of the DP's communications team,” Washiali said.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: