The 13 applicants for Chief Justice position

Race to take over Judiciary presidency

Special Supreme Court proceedings held as Chief Justice David Maraga retired on January 11, 2021

Pulse Live Kenya

A total of 13 applications have been received by the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) following the announcement of the vacancy at the Chief Justice's office.

The JSC noted that the list will be leaned down after shortlisting so that the final candidates will be invited for interviews.

Among those who have applied for the position is Senior Counsel Philip Murgor who is also a former Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

The full list is as follows:-

  1. Prof Otinga Mare
  2. Prof. Moni Wekesa
  3. Justice William Ouko
  4. Justice D.K. Marete
  5. Alice Jepkoech Yano
  6. Lady Justice Martha Koome
  7. Justice Mathew N. Nduma
  8. Ngatia Fredrick SC
  9. Prof Patricia K. Mbote
  10. Philip Kipchirchir Murgor
  11. Said Juma Chitembwe
  12. Otondi Ontweka
  13. Ombongi Brian Matagaro


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: