The sports category has moved to a new website.

ODM expels rebels and demands by-elections

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) on Monday, October 31, 2016 expelled 10 leaders from its party who had openly defected to the Jubilee Party.


Topping the expulsion list are former Secretary General and now Labour Party of Kenya leader Ababu Namwamba, Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya, Mathare MP Steven Kariuki and nominated MP Isaac Mwaura.

Others include Kisii Deputy Governor Joash Maangi,  Kwale Women Rep Zainab Chidzuga, MPs Samwel Arama, Masoud Mwahima, John Waluke and Viwandani MCA Samwel Nyangwara.

The decision follows a National Executive Council meeting on Sunday where the party members adopted the party’s disciplinary committee’s decision to de-register the leaders.

By elections


The party will now write to the Registrar of Political Parties on its decision paving way for the announcement of the seats held by the leaders to be declared vacant and subsequent by elections declared.

This will prove a hard task regarding that the general elections are barely 10 months away and there is no electoral team currently in place to oversee the by elections following the resignation of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners last month.

ODM last week removed seven rebel MPs from key parliament committees in a move to discipline errant members who have decamped or openly declared their desire to work with the rival Jubilee Party.


Unblock notifications in browser settings.

Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: