Kenneth Lusaka Uhuru appoints former Jubilee governor as Speaker

  • Published:

Despite his loss, the governor was instrumental in Uhuru’s win

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed former Bungoma governor Kenneth Lusaka as the Speaker for the Senate.

Lusaka had emerged as a favorite for the speaker's seat beating out the former Speaker for the Senate Ekwee Ethuro.

Former National Assembly Deputy Speaker Farah Maalim and Former Migori Senator Wilfred Machage were among those cleared to run for the Senate Speaker seat.

Justin Muturi has been appointed as the National Assembly Speaker.

Noah Awinja and Washington Onyango were the short listed candidates to battle it out for the National Assembly Speaker seat.

These are the highly likely candidates to be picked for the other parliamentary seats.


National assembly

Deputy Speaker for the National Assembly - Moses Cheboi

Majority leader for the National Assembly- Aden Duale

Deputy majority leader for the National Assembly - Jimmy Angwenyi

Chief whip for the National Assembly - Benjamin Washiali

Deputy whip for the National Assembly - Cecily Mbarire



Deputy speaker for the Senate - Kindiki Kithure

Majority leader for the Senate - Kipchumba  Murkomen

Deputy majority leader for the Senate - Fatuma Dulo

Chief whip for the Senate - Susan Kihika

Deputy chief whip for the Senate - Irungu Kang'ata

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Live Kenya?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +254708994405, Social Media @pulselivekenya: #PulseLiveEyewitness & DM or Email: