Nasa chief exposes worrying details of how Duale bribed Uhuru's team

Raila Odinga was behind the controversial list which Kalonzo's team rejected at last minute.

“The wound is the place where the Light enters you. To Mr. Duale, the Ksh11.5m marshaled to bump me off will not dim my star. Take this to the bank; I will be back soon, facing you off in the parlor of parliament. You can buy MPs, but you can't buy ordinary voters,” he wrote on his Twitter account on Saturday.

Mr Magaya’s humiliating loss, who had meagerly 52 votes, was attributed to his combative nature, sibling rivalry within Nasa and the history of MPs rallying behind one of their own.

A battery of Jubilee lawmakers revealed that they would rather vote for Raila Odinga’s elder brother Oburu “than the young lawyer who has been the face of Nasa’s rebellion against President Kenyatta’s win,” the Nation reported Friday.

Nasa CEO Norman Magaya was roundly rejected by MPs in his bid to represent Kenya at the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) despite intense lobbying even by his boss and Nasa Raila Odinga.

Hours after being shortchanged at last minute over an assured yet controversial appointment to the Mr Magaya penned a remorseful message to the team, exposing yet a deeply rooted division in the coalition.

Taking to Twitter on Thursday, Mr Magaya exposed what seemed that he would have thoroughly lobbied for the position with Raila Odinga’s luminaries, after the decision to give the position to Raila Odinga’s brother Oburu Odinga, seemingly irked a huge section of the coalition members.

“Unapologetic, tenacious, relentless, unremorseful, non-compromising and principled. Will never beg on my knees for favors. Keep them. Forever stay on my feet. There is dignity in being firm. Forever grateful to my mentor James Orengo. Charismatic!” the disgruntled CEO wrote.

On Thursday, Members of Parliament concluded the election of nine Kenyans to the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The election saw Kennedy Musyoka garner 309 votes, Oburu Oginga (243), Abdikadir Aden (234), and Fatuma Ibrahim (143) to represent the National Super Alliance side. Nasa CEO lost despite an earlier list purportedly presented by Nasa leader Raila Odinga.

President Uhuru Kenyatta led Jubilee Party, on the other hand, backed former Kamukunji MP Simon Mbugua with 286 votes alongside Florence Jematia (252), Mpuru Aburi (208), Wanjiku Muhia (180), and Adan Noor (192).

The exercise put to an end an intense lobbying which characterised the push by most of those who were nominated by the parties.

The Senate and National Assembly subjected the nominees to a vote through a secret ballot. The new team is set to be sworn in Monday next week at Arusha in Tanzania for the assembly to start its business in January next year.

Mr Duale had not responded to these claims at the time of publishing this article.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: