Kenyan politicians missing from Uhuru's government after being promised state jobs

The big names that have been left from President Kenyatta’s reward list

The politicians, many of whom were used to trappings of power as governors, senators and MPs, have been left in the cold with Mr Kenyatta having virtually completed forming his government.

While Uhuru sought to appease a legion of supporters who supported him in last year's elections by creating the Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) position, it is now apparent the posts were hardly enough.

It is reported that there could be vacant positions for the politicians as heads of parastatals and memberships to constitutional commissions, but even then some are considered too junior to them.

That said, here are some of the big names missing from President Kenyatta’s reward list:

David Chirchir

Mr Chirchir’s omission is the most conspicuous as he was the President’s chief agent at the National Tallying Centre in the two elections last year and was a key actor in the resultant presidential petitions.

In both cases, he filed affidavits in support of candidate Kenyatta’s win and sat throughout the court process.

Mr Chirchir’s deputy at the NTC, Ms Winnie Guchu was rewarded with a CAS job.

Isaac Ruto

The former Bomet governor was one of the fiercest critics of the Jubilee government before switching sides after his defeat by Dr Joyce Laboso.

Those who justify his sidelining say he had been defeated anyway and had only supported the President after the annulment of his win on September 1.

His deputy in Chama Cha Mashinani, Patrick Ntutu, was however rewarded with the position of CAS in the Ministry of Interior.

Hassan Omar

Mr Omar, the former Mombasa senator and Wiper party secretary-general, was also left out despite the role he played as the loudest critic of Nasa leaders Mr Odinga and Kalonzo Musyoka after he was defeated in his bid to be Mombasa governor.

Martha Karua

While campaigning in Kirinyaga, President Kenyatta had indicated he would appoint whoever lost the Kirinyaga governor’s seat to a State job.

With Ann Waiguru eventually emerging successful, her competitior and Narc Kenya leader Martha Karua is still in the cold.

Paul Otuoma

The former Funyula MP's fate is compounded by the appointment of Mr Namwamba since both come from neighbouring constituencies in Busia County.

Other big political figures left out in the cold include: Former Senate Speaker Ekwee Ethuro, former governors David Nkedianye, Moses Akaranga and Benjamin Cheboi as well as former MPs James Rege, Alfred Khangati, and Danson Mungatana.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: